Dr. Burton Drayer
Courtesy of Icahn School
of Medicine at Mount Sinai

Dr. Burton Drayer is new CEO of Mount Sinai Doctors Faculty Practice

November 07, 2014
by Lauren Dubinsky, Senior Reporter
Mount Sinai Health System announced on Wednesday that Dr. Burton P. Drayer has been appointed CEO of Mount Sinai Doctors Faculty Practice and dean for clinical affairs at Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai.

Drayer also holds several other positions at Mount Sinai including Dr. Charles M. and Marilyn Newman professor of radiology, system chairman of the department of radiology at the Mount Sinai School of Medicine and executive vice president for risk at the Mount Sinai Medical Center.

He started his career at Mount Sinai almost 20 years ago when he was recruited in 1995 as the chair of radiology. From 2003 to 2008 he held key positions including president of The Mount Sinai Hospital and executive vice president for hospital and clinical affairs of the Mount Sinai Medical Center.

Along with Dr. Kenneth L. Davis, his achievements include launching the CARTS budgeting system, constructing the Kravis Center for Advanced Medicine, improving relations between the physicians and the medical center, enhancing purchasing and billing expertise, pushing for a larger ambulatory footprint and finishing image services digitization through the health system.

He is well-known for his research in using anatomic, physiologic and functional imaging of the aging brain, brain iron, neurodegenerative disorders, brain infarction, Xenon CT regional cerebral blood flow, MR angiography and multiple sclerosis. He has over 200 publications in major journals and has also contributed to many books.

He is past president of the American Society of Neuroradiology and served as RSNA president in 2011. He is currently on the board of chancellors of the ACR and the board of directors of the Academy of Radiology Research.

He was recently made chair-elect of the board of trustees of the RSNA Research and Education Foundation and he is a fellow of the American Academy of Neurology and the ACR.